Subscribe to our e-newsletter
Follow us on Twitter
Privacy and cookies
Established 1996
Saturday 23 February 2019



Payments Awards 2016: winners announced

Written by Anthony Strzalek

Mastercard, Verifone, Hello Soda, Vodafone and RateSetter were among the companies who took home a coveted trophy at the fourth annual Payments Awards 2016 last night, hosted by FStech and Retail Systems.

Recognising cards and payments excellence and innovation, these awards were hotly contested, with the winners revealed at a prestigious gala dinner and awards ceremony at the London Marriott Hotel in Mayfair last night.

Congratulations to all of our winners:

Best Online Payments Solution (Consumer)
Winner: Target Group
Highly Commended: Splitit

Best Online Payments Solution (Merchant)
Winner: ACI Worldwide

Mobile Payments Solution of the Year
Winner: SmartTrade App Ltd

Best Contactless Payments Project
Winner: Rugby Football Union

Best In-Store Payments Solution
Winner: MasterCard

Card Innovation of the Year
Winner: Splitit

Anti-Fraud/Security Solution of the Year
Winner: Kount
Highly Commended: Arxan Technologies

Most Disruptive Payments Technology - sponsored by Paysafe Group
Winner: Saxo Payments

Payments Startup of the Year
Winner: Optimus Cards Group

Technology Provider of the Year
Winner: Verifone

Best Merchant Acquirer/Processor
Winner: Paysafe Group

Clearing/Settlement Initiative of the Year
Winner: VocaLink

Financial Services Institution of the Year
Winner: Raphaels Bank

Best International Money Transfer Solution
Winner: Earthport

Lending Initiative of the Year
Winner: RateSetter

B2B Payments Innovation of the Year
Winner: Western Union Business Solutions

Best Prepaid Card Solution
Winner: Payment Card Solutions and Wirecard Card Solutions
Highly Commended: Pockit and Wirecard Card Solutions

Best Alternative Payments Project
Winner: Bango

Marketing Campaign of the Year
Winner: FromMe2You gift card issued by Wirecard Card Solutions

Engagement & Loyalty Scheme of the Year
Winner: Vodafone Group Plc

Innovation of the Year - sponsored by Western Union Business Solutions
Winner: Hello Soda

Payments Pioneer Award
Winner: Marc Terry, Group Managing Director EMEA, FIS

Winner: Vodafone Group Plc

Related Articles


Retail Payments
Verifone’s Nathan Gill talks to Michelle Stevens about evolving consumer payment behaviours and the importance of the point of sale experience

Advantech's AIM-37 mobile POS solution rocks the Hellfest in France
An application story of the Advantech mobile POS tablet system with printer cradle at the Hellfest festival in Clisson, France.
Most read stories...
World Markets (15 minute+ time delay)